Biosphere Partnership


The Galloway & Southern Ayrshire Biosphere Partnership represent a wide range of interests and by working together will guide the Biosphere.

The Galloway & Southern Ayrshire Biosphere Partnership is also a registered Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation (SCIO).

Board Members and Trustees

The Biosphere Partnership Board Members are:

Joan Mitchell – Chair Person
Roddy Fairley – Scottish Natural Heritage
Doug Howieson – Forestry Commission Scotland
Mary-Ann Smyth – Crichton Carbon Centre
Howard Wilkinson – Ayrshire Food Network
J Mark Gibson – Craigengillan Estate
Peter Ross – Glenluce Community
Chris Rollie – RSPB
Andrew Bielinski – Dalry Community Council
Cllr Katie Hagmann – Dumfries and Galloway Council
Cllr Drew Filson – East Ayrshire Council

Cllr Alec Clark – South Ayrshire Council
John Thomson – Nether Linkins Farm

Shalla Grey – Kirkcowan Village Shop

Melanie Allen – Nithbank Country House Thornhill

Zoe Kennedy – Kirkmichael Kennels

Chris Saunders – Adventure Centre for Education


The Galloway & Southern Ayrshire Biosphere Partnership is also a trust registered as a Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation. Members of the Trust are:

Joan Mitchell – Chair of Trustees and Biosphere Partnership Board

Peter Ross

John Thomson

J Mark Gibson

Andrew Bielinski

Mary-Ann Smyth

GSAB Partnership Board Annual Accounts can be found here